

## STATE INNOVATION EXCHANGE

April 27, 2023

DELIVERED VIA EMAIL

Speaker Matt Regier Montana House of Representatives 1301 East 6th Avenue, Helena, MT 59620 <u>Matt.Regier@legmt.gov</u>

Speaker Charles McCall Oklahoma House of Representatives 2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Room 401 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 <u>Charles.Mccall@okhouse.gov</u>

Dear Speaker Regier and Speaker McCall,

We, the undersigned who proudly lead LGBTQ+ legislative caucuses and proudly serve as LGBTQ+ lawmakers across the country, stand in solidarity with Montana State Representative Zooey Zephyr and Oklahoma State Representative Mauree Turner, as they face censure for simply doing the work they were elected to do and defend the rights and dignity of transgender, non-binary, and intersex people.

As state legislatures across the country eviscerate healthcare access for transgender youth and adults, deny the right to education and individual self-expression, and undermine our essential freedoms, LGBTQ+ legislators and our accomplices are fighting back. While it may be uncomfortable for some lawmakers to be confronted with public outcry and forthright debate, that is the purpose of the legislative process and the freedom your constituents and duly elected representatives inherently have in your state capitols, and every state capitol in our nation.

As LGBTQ+ lawmakers, we refuse to be silenced. Rep. Zephyr's and Rep. Turner's censure undermines the representation of the tens of thousands of people who elected them to serve. As elected officials, we have the right to be heard, to advocate for our constituents, and to stand up for LGTBQ+ people and the freedoms of all of the residents in our states. Actions that strip lawmakers of their voice from their duly-elected positions undermine the people's will and represent a direct threat to our democracy everywhere.

From Montana to Oklahoma, courageous transgender and non-binary state lawmakers across the country are standing up for their constituents and defending our freedoms. We are protecting the right to bodily autonomy, championing healthcare access for all, and advocating every child has access to public education. Although you've undemocratically barred Rep. Zephyr and Rep. Turner you cannot silence us. We the undersigned, on behalf of our 300+ LGBTQ+ elected colleagues across the country, proudly stand in solidarity with Montana Rep. Zooey Zephyr and Oklahoma Rep. Mauree Turner.

Sincerely,



# STATE INNOVATION EXCHANGE

## Arizona LGBTQ Legislative Caucus

Representative Oscar De Los Santos, Co-Chair Representative Patty Contreras, Co-Chair

## **California Legislative LGBTQ Caucus**

Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman, Chair Assemblyperson Christopher Ward, Vice Chair

#### Colorado Democratic LGBTQ+ Caucus

Representative Brianna Titone, Chair Representative Leslie Herod

#### Connecticut

Representative Raghib Allie-Brennan Representative Jeff Currey

**Delaware LGBTQ+ Caucus** Senator Marie Pinkney, Co-Chair

#### Florida

Senator Shevrin Jones Representative Michele Rayner-Goolsby

#### Georgia

Senator Kim Jackson Representative Sam Park Representative Park Cannon

Illinois Representative Kelly Cassidy

#### Kansas

Representative Heather Meyer Representative Brandon Woodard

## Maryland

Delegate Ashanti Martinez Delegate Gabriel Acevero

## Michigan Legislative LGBTQ+ Caucus

Representative Laurie Pohutsky, Chair Senator Jeremy Moss, Co-Chair Representative Jason Hoskins

#### Minnesota Queer Caucus

Representative Leigh Finke, Chair Representative Brion Curran, Vice Chair Senator Erin Maye Quade Senator D. Scott Dibble Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten Representative Sydney Z. Jordan Representative Liz Reyer Representative Heather Keeler Representative Athena Hollins

#### Nevada LGBTQ+ Legislative Caucus

Senator Dallas Harris, Chair Assemblyperson Sarah Peters, Vice Chair

#### New York

Senator Jabari Brisport Senator Brad Hoylman-Sigal Assemblyperson Danny O'Donnell Assemblyperson Deborah J. Glick

## North Carolina

Senator Lisa Grafstein Representative Deborah Butler Representative Allison Dahle Representative Vernetta Alston

#### Pennsylvania LGBTQ+ Equality Caucus

Representative Jessica Benham, Co-Chair Representative Malcolm Kenyatta, Co-Chair

## **Rhode Island**

Senator Tiara Mack

## Virginia

Senator Adam Ebbin Delegate Danica Roem Delegate Mark D. Sickles Delegate Dawn M. Adams

#### Wisconsin Legislative LGBTQ+ Caucus

Senator Mark Spreitzer, Chair Senator Tim Carpenter Assemblyperson Lee Snodgrass Representative Greta Neubauer Representative Marisabel Cabrera